Revenge Episode 1 Review

Revenge is the type of programming you consider buying on BluRay or iTunes because it’s not on Netflix but seems too good to miss out on. Of course, that dilemma would be easily avoided if you just caught it on ABC when it originally aired. But since the advent of Netflix on my phone and iPad, the feeling that I NEED to catch my shows during their weekly times is gone. (The last time I had such a need was back when Glee was in the middle of it’s third season). The problem I got tired of having was that if I missed an episode, I would inevitably fall behind since I refuse to skip episodes in ongoing stories like Glee or Revenge. It’s a little bit different if I stumble upon an episode of Family Guy with my friends.

Nevertheless, not a month ago was I roaming the aisles of Best Buy considering if I would buy the pricey enough first season of Revenge to finally bring me up to speed with all the hype. Thankfully, I didn’t bite. Because now it’s on Netflix and the instant I saw it I was ready to rip my teeth into it. So did the long anticipated (for me) first episode live up to the praise I’ve read on the internet or Entertainment Weekly (don’t worry, I’m fully digital–I read it on my iPad app)?

The answer is “not yet”.

Revenge is the story of Emily Thorne’s summer in the Hamptons. Except, of course, there’s more to that. To begin with, Emily Thorne (played by Emily VanCamp) is not her real name. No, the truth is she’s Amanda Clarke, the daughter of a now deceased former Hampton-ite who was framed for a crime he didn’t commit and sent to prison for life. Choosing to not follow in the footsteps of her father, who found peace by forgiving his wrongdoers, she instead is back to get revenge against everyone who wronged her and her father. And in one episode, she gets a lot done. I won’t spoil the juicy details for you, but by the end of the episode she’s already crossing one name off her list.

While the first episode didn’t bring the guilty pleasure giddiness I was hoping for, there is literally nothing I can complain about the first entry in what will surely develop into a long and complicated story. While things happen that you could easily see in overdramatic shows like Gossip Girl or Desperate Housewives (both on Netflix, and both shows I deeply enjoyed, at least for their perfect first seasons), a twist at the end of the episode reveals that the main character Emily Thorne is more involved behind the scenes than you might have expected. This isn’t a character who believes in waiting to get her revenge. She’s going to find the perfect moment to strike; and if she can’t find one you damn better believe she’s going to make one.

So will I continue watching Kill Bill: Slow Burn? Yes. I would be lying if I said I was interested because a long time ago I imagined what a T.V. show would be like if it was just a vicious cycle of revenge plots. “I want revenge on these people, I get it, but now their loved ones are after me, etc.” Hopefully this is what the second season becomes. But more importantly, I hope the show is up to the hype. I’ll be watching the complete first season and coming back to you for an assessment.

If you have Netflix or are considering the 30-Day Free Trial, this could easily be a show to check out.

And don’t forget, the easiest way to stream Netflix is through the #1 Rated Netflix Streaming Device, the Roku, with a 30-Day Money Back Guarantee, just like Netflix.

If you’re still on the fence about Revenge, check out the trailer below.

Let us know what you thought about the show by clicking “reply” at the top of the article.

Follow us on Facebook at facebook.com/Netflix-Critic-Review for future reviews.

For those who like their Special Features and Audio Commentaries (and this has many), here is a helpful link to the physical copy:

Revenge: The Complete First Season

Strangely, there has been no Blu-Ray release. So you might want to wait and enjoy it for now on Netflix, though there’s been no indication that anything special will be available on the Blu-Ray as opposed to what is already on the DVD release.

